13th Bar-Ilan Symposium on the Foundations of Artificial Intelligence

Introduction To BISFAI

BISFAI, the Bar-Ilan Symposium on Foundations of Artificial Intelligence, was established in 1989 by Prof. Martin Golumbic. Since then, it has taken place every other year (besides 2003), and is regularly held at Bar-Ilan University by the Department of Computer Science, with the exception of 2005, when it was hosted by the Caesarea Rothschild Institute (CRI) at University of Haifa.

The biennial symposium focuses on the foundations of AI and, over the years, has often had additional specialized themes. For example, the 2007 event was held in conjunction with the Israeli Seminar on Computational Linguistics (ISCOL), organized by Ari Rappoport and Ido Dagan, and a special Robotics track, organized by Gal Kaminka and Eli Kolberg. BISFAI boasts excellent talks in different subfields of AI. Two books and several special issues of journals have been published from selected papers presented at BISFAI. World renowned AI researchers regularly visit and lecture at BISFAI, which gives an opportunity for the Israeli AI community, especially the students, to meet their peers from abroad. To many, BISFAI has become the premier event of AI happening in Israel.

BISFAI 2017 takes place at Bar-Ilan, Sun-Mon, June 11-12, 2017. The symposium chair is Joseph (Yossi) Keshet, the program chairs are Noa Agmon and Noam Hazon, and the organization chair is Ariel Frank. There will be a special Data Sciences Institute track, headed by Ido Dagan, that is organized by Gal Chechik and Sharon Gannot.

The following is a list of the keynote speakers from previous BISFAI conferences:


Sanmay Das (Washington U.)
Sarit Kraus (Bar-Ilan U.)
Madhav Marathe (Virginia Bioinformatics Institute, VirginiaTech)
Shaul Markovitch (Technion - Israel Institute of Technology)
Shai Shalev-Shwartz (The Hebrew U.)
Yevgeniy Vorobeychik (Vanderbilt U.)


Barbara Grosz (Harvard U.)
Gal Kaminka (Bar-Ilan U.)
Jeffrey Rosenschein (Hebrew U.)
Francesca Rossi (U. of Padova, Italy)


David Carmel (IBM Research, H. lab) 
Vincent Conitzer (Duke U.)
Sarit Kraus (Bar-Ilan U.)
Oliviero Stock (FBK-IRST, Trento, Italy)
Nathan Sturtevant (Denver U.)
V.S. Subrahmanian (U. of Maryland)


Martin Golumbic (U. of Haifa and CRI)
Peter Stone (The U. of Texas at Austin)
Jeff Ullman (Stanford U.)
Antal van den Bosch (Tilburg U., The Netherlands)


Yaacov Choueka (Bar-Ilan U.)
Dana Nau (U. of Maryland)
Milind Tambe (U. of Southern California)
Manuela Veloso (Carnegie Mellon U.)
Michael Wooldridge (U. of Liverpool)


Richard Korf (UCLA)
John McCarthy (Stanford U.)
Helmut Prendinger (Japanese National Institute of Informatics)
Bart Selman (Cornell U.)
Yoav Shoham (Stanford U.)
Shlomo Zilberstein (U. of Massachusetts)


Yaacov Choueka (Bar-Ilan U.)
Jieh Hsiang (National Taiwan U.)
Daphne Koller (Stanford U.)

Oliviero Stock (ITC-irst, Trento)
Moshe Vardi (Rice U.)


Leo Joskowicz (Hebrew U.)
Stanley Rosenschein (Stanford U.)
Reid Simmons (Carnegie Mellon U.)


Craig Boutilier (U. of British Columbia)
Michael Kearns (AT&T)
Yoav Shoham (Stanford)
Wolfgang Wahlster (German Research Center for AI, DFKI GmbH)


Robert Berwick (MIT)
Aravind Joshi (U. of Pennsylvania)
Hans Kamp (Stuttgart U.)
Jack Minker (U. of Maryland)
Sergei Nirenburg (New Mexico State U.)
Naftaly Tishby (Hebrew U.)


Robert Aumann (Hebrew U.)
Barbara Grosz (Harvard U.)
Vladimir Lifschitz (U. of Texas at Austin)
Jeffrey Rosenschein (Hebrew U.)


Hans Berliner (Carnegie Mellon U.)
Ernest Davis (Courant Institute, NYU)
Monique Pavel (U. of Paris)
Stanley Peters (Stanford U.)


Joe Halpern (IBM Research)
Johann A. Makowsky (Technion)
John McCarthy (Stanford U.)
Judea Pearl (UCLA)
Ron Rivest (MIT)

BISFAI has been an ongoing success due to the dedication of the Israeli AI community members, and especially thanks to the previous Chairs who have diligently served (some quite a few times J) over the years (in alphabetical order): Shlomo Argamon, Nachum Dershowitz, Ronen Feldman, Ariel Frank, Claudia Goldman, Martin Charles Golumbic, Leo Joskowicz, Gal Kaminka, Moshe Koppel, Sarit Kraus, Daniel Lehmann, Leora Morgenstern, Ariella Richardson, Mori Rimon, Avi Rosenfeld, David Sarne, Uri Schild, Eli Shamir, and Solomon Eyal Shimony.