Ido Dagan

Ido Daganעידו דגן

Natural Language Processing Lab
Department of Computer Science
Bar-Ilan University
Ramat Gan, 52900, Israel

Phone: +972-3-5317620
Mobile: +972-54-4395336

Ido Dagan is a Professor at the Department of Computer Science at Bar-Ilan University, Israel, the founder of the Natural Language Processing (NLP) Lab at Bar-Ilan, and a Fellow of the Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL). His interests are in applied semantic processing, focusing on textual inference, natural semantic representation, open representation and consolidation of multi-text information, and interactive text summarization. Dagan and colleagues established the textual entailment recognition paradigm. He was the President of the ACL in 2010 and served on its Executive Committee during 2008-2011. In that capacity, he led the establishment of the journal Transactions of the Association for Computational Linguistics, which is one of two premiere journals in NLP. Dagan received his B.A. summa cum laude and his Ph.D. (1992) in Computer Science from the Technion. He was a research fellow at the IBM Haifa Scientific Center (1991) and a Member of Technical Staff at AT&T Bell Laboratories (1992-1994). During 1998-2003 he was co-founder and CTO of FocusEngine and VP of Technology of LingoMotors. He is currently heading the initiative of setting up the Bar-Ilan University Data Science Institute.

Useful Links
  • Talk at Technion Colloquium, 2019. Video (starts at 1:30 minutes)
  • Talk at AI2, 2017. Video
  • Talk at DMBI, 2017. Slides Video
  • Globes article on NLP, 2019. (Hebrew)
  • Interview on joint research with Intel AI, 2019. (Hebrew)
  • Radio interview on NLP - GALATZ channel Broadcasted University, 2017. (Hebrew)
  • Introduction to Textual Entailment lecture (Hebrew) Video
Current Teaching
Please see full list at Google Scholar or dblp.

  • Shlomit Hazan (with Dr. Ronen Feldman), 1997.
  • Erez Lotan, 1998.
  • Alex Avramovitch, 1998.
  • Shelly Katz (with Dr. Ariel Frank), 1998.
  • Roman Mitnitsky, 1998.
  • Michal Finkelstein-Landau, 1999.
  • Marina Risher, 2001.
  • Ehud Conley, 2002.
  • Idan Szpektor (with Prof. Yossi Matias), 2005.
  • Shachar Mirkin (with Dr. Ari Rappoport), 2006.
  • Moshe Friedman (with Prof. Moshe Koppel), 2006.
  • Tal Itzhak Ron, 2006.
  • Efrat Hershkovitz, 2006.
  • Eyal Shnarch, 2008.
  • Libby Berkovitch, 2008.
  • Ephi Sachs, 2008.
  • Lili Kotlerman, 2009.
  • Chen Erez, 2009.
  • Chaya Liebeskind, 2009.
  • Roni Ben Aharon, 2010.
  • Hadas Zohar (with Dr. Jonathan Schler), 2011.
  • Naomi Frankel (with Dr. Meni Adler), 2012.
  • Amnon Lotan, 2012.
  • Hila Weisman (with Dr. Idan Szpektor), 2013.
  • Ofer Bronstein, 2015.
  • Vasily Konovalov, 2016.
  • Rachel Wities, 2017.
  • Ori Shapira (with Dr. Yael Amsterdamer), 2017.
  • Ayal Klein, 2018.
  • Shany Barhom, 2019.
  • Amit Moryosef
  • Yehudit Reiser Meged
  • Pavel Roit
  • Ari Bornstein
  • Leon Pesahov
  • Arie Cattan
  • Daniela Stepanov
  • Assaf Toledo, 2016.